On Dating Good Guys

by Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog

There seems to be this undercurrent of asshole-loving lately; my peers justifying their ill-advised decision to partner with people they believe can and will ‘change.’ I’m all about personal preference, but it seems that while the Nice Guy/Asshole debate rages on, no one has stood up for the Good Guys.

When I was younger (whatever age you are when people actually sign yearbooks), there was this one descriptor that people always included when signing my autograph book or what-have-you. ‘Sweet.’ “Stay sweet, Stephanie,” or “You’re such a sweet girl.” It’s funny; I don’t think anyone has called me ‘sweet’ since I was thirteen, probably – but at the time, it was a recurring theme. I was sweet.

I don’t believe I’m inherently ‘unsweetened’ now, but I’ve developed somewhat of an acerbic tinge. I won’t shy away from expressing my opinion (unless I’ve predetermined that my opponent will likely refer to…

View original post 666 more words

